Professional Glam

So we are back at it again this month with a new post! This time I wanted to touch on makeup. I’d like to note – I do not see make up as something you have to wear everyday or at all! But, if you want to start here are a few tips from an Essence featured make-up artist!

Tell us a little bit about yourself, interests, etc

My name is Keyshonda, but most people know me as Key. I’m a senior at Mercer University, and I double major in Entrepreneurship and Marketing. Since high school, I’ve been doing my own makeup and others, but I didn’t realize I wanted to incorporate my hobby (at the time) of doing makeup into my career path. As of right now, I do it as another form of income, but I plan to have my own cosmetic line in the near future. 

So when it comes to a professional makeup look what are some simple tips? What kind of look do you go for?

For professional makeup looks, less is always best. A “natural face” makeup look is usually my go-to, and that usually includes: (1) a light fill-in of the eyebrows (preferably with a pencil), (2) skin-matched foundation, (3) minimal eyeshadow with neutral colors, and (4) a nude lip. 

What are some makeup hacks that can make shorten someone’s morning routine?

(1) Keeping your eyebrows waxed, threaded, tamed, etc. lessens then amount of time spent on doing them and can usually cut out the concealing portion of the process. (2) Use lipstick as lip liner as well instead of searching forever for your small lip pencil through loads of makeup. (3) Use facial sprays that can be substituted as primer and setting spray as well. 

Professional makeup NO NOs?

(1) Do NOT wear bold, bright colors. (2) Never wear too many layers of makeup. (3) Refrain from makeup that does not match your skin tone.

As you can see, Key did a nude lip and went very light on the eye shadow.

You can find Key on social media! Her Instagram is KeyCreations_ and her Facebook/YouTube is KeyCreations.

Link to her Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/p/B6J0ynJHcf-/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

Here’s a link to a tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d2IIJS5OER4

Here’s a link to her Essence feature: https://www.essence.com/beauty/15-christmas-makeup-ideas/#488942

Leave a comment